Friday, June 3, 2011

In the News-Gary Varvel

Gary Varvel Wins Reuben Award

Gary Varvel won the 2011 Reuben Award for his editorial cartoons, presented by the National Cartoonists Society (NCS) at its 65th annual banquet in Boston last weekend. Varvel, who has been the editorial cartoonist for the Indianapolis Star since 1994, was one of fourteen cartoonists recognized at the banquet, held at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel on Saturday, May 28, 2011. Varvel joins a list of other Hoosier cartoonists who have won Reuben Awards, including Dick Moores (Gasoline Alley), Bill Crawford (editorial cartoons), Frank O'Neal (Short Ribs), Jim Davis (Garfield), and Dale Messick (Brenda Starr). You can find photos and other information about the event at Gary Varvel's blog.

Copyright 2011 Terence E. Hanley

No comments:

Post a Comment